Tuesday, February 13, 2018



The general body meeting of IAMM TAPC Chapter was held on 20th January 2018, at 5.00 PM in the venue of the XXI IAMM TAPC Chapter Annual Conference, at Narayana Medical College, Nellore.

The secretary, Dr. D.S. Murty, conducted the proceedings and Dr.. K.R.L.Suryakirani, President of IAMM TAPC Chapter and Professor and HOD of Microbiology, Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada, presided over the event.

All the members actively participated in the discussion and the following resolutions were made in the meeting :

1.       Venue of the XXII Conference :  The proposals from Dr. P. Shashikala Reddy, Professor and Head of Microbiology, Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad to conduct the next conference,i.e., XXII IAMM TAPC Chapter Annual Conference, in 2019 were presented and accepted.
2.       Uniform log book – Dr. K.Saileela, Professor of Microbiology, Katuri Medical College, Guntur has proposed to have an uniform logbook for all the postgraduates of microbiology across the medical colleges. A Committee is constituted with Dr. K.Saileela, Dr. P.Sreenivasulu Reddy and Dr. K.Nagamani to prepare a draft, that will be kept on the website for further revision by members. The final draft will be submitted to Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, Vijayawada with a representation to consider the same for the PG Curriculum of Microbiology.
3.       Fixed deposits for the existing prizes :
a.       Dr, I, Jyothipadmaja : gave a cheque for Rs. 50,000 for the prize, Dr. I.S.N.Murty Memorial Prize for the posters (two equal prizes of Rs. 1,000-00 in cash) using the interest from FD . (Till now, she is sending the prize amount every year.)
b.       Dr. K.R.L.Suryakirani : gave a  cheque for Rs. 1,00,000 for the two categories : Dr. B.S.Lakshmi prize for junior faculty (one prize) and Dr. B.Krishna Rao prize for the postgraduates (1st and 2nd prizes). The prizes will be in the form of books. The interest generated from the FD is utilized for giving the prizes. (Till now, she is purchasing and giving the prizes every year).
4.       Proposal for new prizes : Members proposed to fix the  amount for starting prizes as Rs. 1,00,000-00, to meet the expenses of arranging the prizes. It was also recalled that, an amount of Rs. 50,000-00 for cash/book prizes and Rs. 1,00,000-00 for any medals, was fixed in the general body meeting held at Vizag conference. Members felt that , as the cost of the medals (gold and silver) is raising, the raised amount is needed.   For the prizes already instituted, the donors will be contacted if they can contribute any extra amount to their prizes.  Three new proposals for prizes by Dr. Satyavani, Dr. P. Sreenivasulu Reddy  and Dr. Apparao, for the prizes in the Free paper category under various sections (like Mycology , Virology,  Immunology etc). They were advised to submit the proposals with guidelines and exact sections under which the prizes are being proposed.  
5.       Number Of Judges For Prize Paper Sessions : Dr. Nagamani , Professor and Head of Gandhi Medical College, proposed that three judges  are needed for all the prize category presentations to avoid any issue of bias. The members accepted the proposal. She also proposed that the biodata of the donors (or in whose name the prize was instituted),  shall be read before the respective prize session. So far, it is being done only for Dr. K.Rajyalakshmi Memorial Oration. It is accepted to extend the honor to all other prize categories.
6.       Representation to increase the faculty number in medical colleges : All the members unanimously agreed to submit a representation to national body and MCI regarding the need for increase in the faculty position as the microbiology faculty are involved in various activities like IDSP, HIV Testing , SRLs, CD4, viral load assays etc under NACO to cite few. The existing faculty, who are already in the teaching and hospital diagnostics are overburdened if only MCI minimum requirements are considered. Hence, there is a need for increase in the faculty and a representation to that effect shall be submitted  to MCI and National body of IAMM.
7.       The  present executive body is completely dissolved and a new executive body is formed with a consensus in the general body meeting.  
8.       It was proposed that the vice-president  post shall be given to the organising secretary of the next conference for a tenure of 1 year. It was accepted by the general body. Accordingly Dr. P.Shashikala Reddy, Professor and HOD of Microbiology of Osmania Medical College is the new vice-president. 


Dr. P.Srinivasulu Reddy
Professor and Head
Department of Microbiology
Narayana Medical College, Nellore

Ph :  9848756474,   9492905474
Email : sr.palukuru@gmail.com

Vice -President
Dr. P Shashikala Reddy
Professor and Head
Department of Microbiology
Osmania Medical College , Hyderabad

Ph :  9849120002
Email : drshashireddy22@gmail.com

Secretary :
Dr. P. Kasturi
Assistant Professor of Microbiology

Ph :  92466 93776
Email :  kasturipedapati@yahoo.com

Joint Secretary :
Dr. V. V. Shailaja
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Gandhi Medical College, Secundrabad

Ph :  9849327107
Email : shailajavv@yahoo.co.in

Dr. P. Vasundhara Devi
Department of Microbiology
Narayana Medical College, Nellore

Ph : 9949395907
Email :  dr.pvasundhara@yahoo.co.in

Executive Members :
Dr. M.Ramesh Babu
Professor and Head
Department of Microbiology
NRI Medical College, Chinakakani – 522503
 Guntur DIst.
Ph : 9000258797
Email : dr_myneni@yahoo.co.in

Dr. P. Jyothi,
Asst Professor of Microbiology,
 Guntur Medical College,
Ph  9441410845
Email :  drpendyalajyothi@gmail.com

Dr. A.Kishore
Professor and Head of  Microbiology
RVS Institute of Medical Sciences
Ph : 9866214532 ,  8328068167
Email : animreddy.kishore@gmail.com

Dr. Mahwish Jawaid
Assistant Professor,
Deccan College of  Medical Sciences,
Hyderabad- 500058

Ph : 7396636433
Email : dr.wish26@gmail.com

No comments:

Post a Comment